Guy Barker
Soundtrack (PVC1030)
UK Release Date: 22 April 2002

Trumpeter Guy Barker's debut album for Provocateur features seven Guy Barker originals plus a Colin Towns arrangement of Nature Boy. It also features Guy's epic suite Sounds In Black & White, described by The Independent as "a marvel".

Soundtrack - shortlisted for the 2002 Panasonic Mercury Music Prize

Soundtrack features:
GUY BARKER (trumpet);
DENYS BAPTISTE (tenor saxophone);
ROSARIO GIULIANI (alto saxophone);
JIM WATSON (piano/Hammond organ);

"There's a pull between craftsman and artist in Guy Barker, one of the UK's best jazz trumpeters. There's considerable new promise, too, in the sophisticated originals he has been writing, from convoluted contemporary groovers to an ambitious suite devoted to 1940s and 1950s Hollywood film noir. Soon to be recorded, this is Barker's most ambitious project to date." -
The Guardian (live review 31.10.01)
  1. Under dogs
  2. Nature boy
  3. Waiting for the delay
  4. Purr
  5. Susannah's song
  6. Izzatso!
  7. Queen of the night
  8. Sounds in black and white
This text will be replaced