Colin Towns & The NDR Bigband
John Lennon - In My Own Write (PVC1041)
UK Release Date: TBC

To celebrate this man, his music and ideals the English composer/arranger Colin Towns has arranged Lennon’s music for the celebrated NDR Bigband in Hamburg. The sweep of musical ideas are wide, from Revolution to Lucy in the Sky With Diamonds/I Want You (She’s So Heavy) through Woman to Tomorrow Never Knows, the musical journey is ‘now’ and fresh. As with Towns’ previous CD releases showcasing his arranging skills, he creates a world that would not normally be considered for a big band. He has his own individual approach to other composers’ work whilst writing for specific musicians and taking the audience somewhere new and special.

CD 1
  1. Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite
  2. Time Waits For No One
  3. Come Together
  4. Cold Turkey
  5. Woman
  6. Revolution
  7. What You Got
  8. Solar Wind
  9. Across The Universe
  10. Nowhere Man
  11. Give Peace A Chance
  12. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds/I Want You (She's So Heavy)

CD 2
  1. Whatever Gets You Through The Night
  2. Jealous Guy
  3. Slow Going
  4. Tomorrow Never Knows
  5. Beautiful Boy (Darling Boy)
  6. Strawberry Fields Forever
  7. A Day In The Life
  8. Imagine
This text will be replaced