Northern Lights (Annie Whitehead & Alistair Anderson)
UK Release Date: 2 September 2002

A fresh and exciting collaboration between trombonist Annie Whitehead and English Concertina player Alistair Anderson.

Annie Whitehead and Alistair Anderson first got together to write and perform a commission for the Bath International Music Festival 2001. Accompanied by violinist Chris Stout, guitarist Ian Maidman and drummer Liam Genocky, both musicians dug deep into their respective musical backgrounds to produce Airplay, one of the highlights of the 2001 Festival.

Following their festival success, Whitehead and Anderson now working together as NORTHERN LIGHTS took the same musicians into the studio on several dates between March and May 2002 to record the Airplay album. An inspired mix of folk rhythms and jazz grooves, the album features nine original compositions whose overall appeal looks set to extend beyond the aforementioned genres.

  1. Ancient dreams
  2. In all languages
  3. Midnight
  4. Twelve midnight
  5. Midnight air
  6. Midnight reel
  7. Still waters
  8. Dark blue
  9. Hopscotch
This text will be replaced