Colin Towns Mask Orchestra
The Orpheus Suite (PVC2004)
UK Release Date: 4 October 2004

The Orpheus Suite was commissioned by Birmingham Royal Ballet and choreographer David Bintley. It saw it's live premiere featuring the Mask Orchestra at Birmingham Hippodrome on October 6th 2004 and continued on to Sadlers Wells in London and The Theatre Royal in Plymouth.

The 20 strong big band which includes some of the best soloists in the UK including Guy Barker, Alan Skidmore, Barnaby Dickinson, John Parricelli, Dave Hartley and Peter King amongst others, are joined by three of Birmingham Royal Ballet's own percussionists on an album that is further proof that Towns is at the leading edge of European Big Band jazz. Ferociously energetic and at the same time rhythmically infectious, The Orpheus Suite is inspired by the Greek legend.
  1. The Argonauts hit Town (Arrival)
  2. Love and the Sweet Farewell
  3. Aristaeus and the Moisturisers
  4. The Opium Flower Trap (Aristaeus and Eurydice)
  5. 40 One Night Stands (The Band goes on Tour
  6. Stepping in Tears of Sadness (Funeral)
  7. The Hellfire Club (Descend to Hades)
  8. Orpheus and Eurydice
  9. Ripped to Ribbons (Torn to Pieces)
  10. Sacred Concert
  11. John
This text will be replaced